Indiana Wins 2009 Big Ten Tournament

Indiana Wins 2009 Big Ten Tournament

Thursday, February 18, 2010

Opening Weekend Preview

With a little more than 24 hours to go until the kick off of the 2010 college baseball season, let's take a look at this weekend's action involving our beloved Big Ten squads:

Friday 2/19

OHIO STATE vs. North Florida 7PM (Jacksonville, FL)
MINNESOTA vs. Akron 2:05PM (Ft. Myers, FL)
INDIANA @ San Diego 5PM
MICHIGAN ST. vs. Furman 4PM (Greenville, SC)
MICHIGAN vs. Jacksonville St. 1PM (Lubbock, TX)
NORTHWESTERN vs. George Mason 11AM (Rock Hill, SC)
NORTHWESTERN vs. Winthrop 3PM (Rock Hill, SC)

Saturday 2/20

OHIO STATE vs. Florida A&M 5PM (Jacksonville, FL)
MINNESOTA vs. Akron 1:05PM (Ft. Myers, FL)
INDIANA @ San Diego 1/5PM (Doubleheader)
MICHIGAN STATE vs. Clemson 1PM (Greenville, SC)
MICHIGAN vs. Jacksonville St. 1PM (Lubbock, TX)
MICHIGAN vs. Texas Tech 4PM (Lubbock, TX)
IOWA vs. Illinois State 11AM (Clarksville, TN)
IOWA vs. Austin Peay 3PM (Clarksville, TN)
NORTHWESTERN vs. Marist 4 PM (Rock Hill, SC)

Sunday 2/21

OHIO STATE vs. Richmond 11AM (Jacksonville, FL)
MINNESOTA vs. Akron 12:05PM (Ft. Myers, FL)
INDIANA @ San Diego 1PM
MICHIGAN STATE vs. Miami OH 12PM (Greenville, SC)
MICHIGAN vs. Texas Tech 11AM (Lubbock, TX)
NORTHWESTERN vs. George Mason 10AM (Rock Hill, SC)


ILLINOIS two-game home series against Bradley has been cancelled due to weather
PURDUE does not play this weekend
PENN STATE vs. Coppin State and Longwood in Farmville, VA have been cancelled

Saturday, January 2, 2010

Big Ten Baseball 2010 Preview

With the season kicking off in a little less than 2 months, it's time for the 2010 Big Ten Baseball Preview.

Yahoo!/Rivals' college baseball analyst Kendall Rogers tabbed the Big Ten as a baseball conference "on the rise" after they sent 3 teams to the NCAA tournament last season (Ohio State, Minnesota and Indiana). With some big faces returning and new players arriving, the 2010 edition of Big Ten baseball will most definitely provide some excitement again in 2010.

First, let's take a look at last year:

Ohio State 18-6
Minnesota 17-6
Indiana 16-7
Illinois 16-8
Mich. St. 13-11
Purdue 11-12
Michigan 9-15
Penn St. 8-16
N'western 5-17
Iowa 4-19

Ohio State claimed the 2009 Big Ten regular season championship, while Indiana made a perfect run in the Big Ten tournament in Columbus, OH to earn an automatic bid in the NCAA tournament. Minnesota also earned an at-large bid to the NCAA tournament and advanced to the regional final against LSU in Baton Rouge, LA.

2010 Conference Predictions

1.) Ohio State
2.) Minnesota
3.) Michigan
4.) Illinois
5.) Michigan St.
6.) Indiana
7.) Purdue
8.) Penn State
9.) Northwestern
10.) Iowa

2010 Hitters to Watch

Ryan Dew, OHIO ST
Dan Burkhardt, OHIO ST
Zach Hurley, OHIO ST
Michael Kvasnicka, MINN
AJ Pettersen, MINN
Justin Gominsky, MINN
Ryan LaMarre, MICH
Mike Dufek, MICH
Pete Cappetta, ILL
Aaron Johnson, ILL
Willie Argo, ILL
Alex Dickerson, IND
Jerrud Sabourin, IND
Eli Boike, MICH ST
Jonathan Roof, MICH ST
Eric Charles, PUR
Drew Madia, PUR
Jordan Steranka, PENN ST
Blake Lynd, PENN ST
Kenneth Avila, NW
Chris Lashmet, NW
Ryan Durant, IOWA
Kurtis Muller, IOWA

2010 Pitchers to Watch

Alex Wimmers, OHIO ST
Dean Wolosiansky, OHIO ST
Drew Rucinski, OHIO ST
Seth Rosin, MINN
Scott Matyas, MINN
Eric Katzman, MICH
Tyler Burgoon, MICH
Tony Bucciferro, MICH ST
AJ Achter, MICH ST
Matt Morgan, PUR
Matt Bischoff, PUR
Matt Jansen, PUR
David Lutz, PENN ST
Ryan Ignas, PENN ST
Eric Jockisch, NW
Phil Schreiber, IOWA

Wednesday, June 10, 2009

Big Ten Players in 2009 MLB Draft - Update

As of 12:35 pm ET, the 2009 MLB draft has completed its first 9 rounds, and the following Big Ten players have been selected:

Eric Arnett, RHP, Indiana (#25 overall, Milwaukee Brewers)
Josh Phegley, C, Indiana (#38 overall, Chicago White Sox)
Matt Bashore, LHP, Indiana (#46 overall, Minnesota Twins)
Derek McCallum, 2B, Minnesota (#132 overall, Minnesota Twins)
Brandon Wikoff, SS, Illinois (#161 overall, Houston Astros)
Chris Fetter, RHP, Michigan (#264 overall, San Diego Padres)
Evan Crawford, OF, Indiana (#267 overall, San Francisco Giants)

Stay tuned as the MLB draft continues and more Big Ten players are selected.

Tuesday, June 9, 2009

Indiana's Phegley and Bashore Drafted on Day 1

After the Milwaukee Brewers selected the first Big Ten player in the 2009 MLB draft in Indiana hurler Eric Arnett (#25 overall), the Chicago White Sox picked the second Big Ten player, Josh Phegley, also from Indiana, as the #38 overall pick. Later, yet another Hoosier was selected, and the third from the Big Ten in LHP Matt Bashore, who was selected by the Minnesota Twins as the #46 overall selection. The first day is done and three Big Ten baseball familiars were taken, but stay tuned as the draft resumes tomorrow and there are plenty of other Big Ten players waiting to be selected, highlighted by Minnesota 2B Derek McCallum, who was most recently projected to fall in the 4th-5th round.

Indiana P Eric Arnett Selected in the First Rd. of 2009 MLB Draft

Just a few moments ago, Indiana pitcher Eric Arnett was selected in the first round (25th overall pick) of the 2009 MLB draft by the Milwaukee Brewers. Arnett is the first Big Ten player selected in the 2009 draft so far. Congratulations to Arnett and Hoosier nation, the Brewers are getting a real good one. Stay tuned for more updates on Big Ten players in the 2009 draft.

Monday, June 8, 2009

College World Series Field is Set

After today's game, the field of 8 teams for the College World Series at Rosenblatt Stadium in Omaha, Nebraska is set. The games will begin on June 13th and the final game will be on the 23rd or 24th. The field consists of:

Texas (#1 seed, defeated TCU in super regional)
Southern Mississippi (#3 seed, defeated Florida in super regional)
Arizona State (#1 seed, defeated Clemson in super regional)
North Carolina (#1 seed, defeated East Carolina in super regional)
Cal State Fullerton (#1 seed, defeated Louisville in super regional)
Arkansas (#2 seed, defeated Florida State in super regional)
Virginia (#2 seed, defeated Mississippi in super regional)
Louisiana State (#1 seed, defeated Rice in super regional)

These 8 teams will now be separated into two separate, double elimination brackets. The winners of each bracket will play each other in a best-of-three series to determine the NCAA champion. Stay tuned for updates as the CWS begins.

Saturday, June 6, 2009

NCAA Tournament Update

I know this is not Big Ten related since all Big Ten teams were knocked out of the tournament, but I thought I would give everyone an update on the NCAA tournament in case they are interested. The following teams won their regional and advanced to Super Regionals:

Southern Miss
Arizona State
East Carolina
North Carolina
CS Fullerton
Florida State
Ole Miss

The Super Regionals began yesterday, and the each regional winner was paired with another regional winner to compete in a best of three series, the winner earning a berth in the College World Series in Omaha which begins June 13th. Here are the Super Regional pairings and results so far:

TCU vs. Texas (1st game today)

Florida vs. Southern Mississippi (1st game today)

Clemson vs. Arizona State (1st game today)

North Carolina vs. East Carolina (North Carolina leads series 1-0)

Cal State Fullerton vs. Louisville (CS Fullerton leads the series 1-0)

Florida State vs. Arkansas (Arkansas wins series 2-0, earns berth to College World Seires)

Ole Miss vs. Virginia (Series tied 1-1)

LSU vs. Rice (LSU leads series 1-0)

So far, Arkansas is the only team that has earned a spot in the College World Series, but both Cal State Fullerton and LSU can earn a berth if they win today. Stay tuned for more results as the College World Series field of 8 starts filling up!